The email address and password you entered do not match.
About altcine | Contact altcine
55th Thessaloniki IFF - The Awards
10 November 2014
share info
The curtain fell on the 55th edition of the Thessaloniki FF on Saturday, November 8, during the closing ceremony that took place at a packed Olympion Theatre. 

Winners of TIFF 2014 (photo by Motionteam)

In his opening speech, festival director Dimitri Eipides summarised the accomplishments of this year’s edition: “We celebrated together the 55 years of the Festival. The audience gave a resounding response to our invitation, with theatres recording over 96% capacity. We owe a heartfelt thanks to this audience, because they confirmed that independent cinema can reveal a different side of the world, a side all of us need. All of our guests of honour this year have been fine examples of this kind of innovative cinema. One of them, the emblematic actress Hanna Schygulla, is here with us tonight. Your presence is a great honour. We were also joined by Serbian activist filmmaker Zelimir Zilnik and Ramin Bahrani, one of the most important voices of American cinema. We were also fascinated by the Festival’s tributes to daring filmmaker Kornél Mundruczó and to the magician of surrealism Roy Andersson. One of the landmarks of this year’s edition has been the centennial of Greek cinema. Both classics and contemporary Greek films came center stage. I would like to thank all filmmakers from Greece and abroad who trusted us with their work” said Eipides before thanking also the staff and volunteers, the Greek Ministry of Culture and Sports, the Municipality of Thessaloniki, the European Programme MEDIA, the Greek state television, the Greek Film Center and the Hellenic Parliament TV Channels.

Following Mr Eipides’ speech, directors Pantelis Voulgaris and Lakis Papastathis, along with actresses Voula Zouboulaki and Anna Synodinou received honorary awards. 

Mexican director Jorge Pérez Solano, Golden Alexander for Best Feature Film (photo by Motionteam)

This year’s jury president, Austrian director Götz Spielmann, joined by Rasha Salti, (festival programmer), Joanna Lapinska, (artistic director at the New Horizons Film Festival in Poland), Miroljub Vuckovic (head of international relations at Serbia’s Film Center) and producer Thanassis Karathanos gave the Golden Alexander for Best Feature Film to Perpetual Sadness by Jorge Perez Solano (Mexico). Asaf Korman’s film Next to Her (Israel) won the Silver Alexander Special Jury Award, while the Bronze Alexander for Originality and Innovation was presented by Hanna Schygulla -TIFF held a tribute to her work this year- to the film The Lesson by Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov (Bulgaria, Greece) which also received the Award for Best Screenplay

Konstantina Stavrianou from Graal receiving the Silver Alexander Special Jury Award on behalf of Asaf Korman (photo by Motionteam)

The Best Director Award was presented to Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy for his Cannes ‘14 awarded film The Tribe, from Ukraine. The award for Best Actress was bestwed to Brooke Bloom for her role in the film She’s Lost Control by Anja Marquardt (USA) and that for Best Actor to Sverrir Gudnason (Blowfly Park by Jens Östberg - Sweden). The Artistic Achievement Award was presented to the film In The Crosswind by Martti Helde (Estonia). 

Consisting of José Antonio Teodoro (jury president, Canada), Müge Turan (Turkey) and Ninos Feneck Mikelides (Greece), the FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics) jury awarded two prizes and a special mention. Goodnight Mommy (Austria) by Veronika Franz and Severin Fiala received the FIPRESCI International Competition Award, while the award for Greek Films went to the film Norway by Yannis Veslemes. Also, the FIPRESCI jury bestowed a Special Mention to Nikos Nikolopoulos and Vladimiros Nikolouzos’ Polk

Actress Margita Gosheva receiving the Bronze Alexander for Originality and Innovation for The Lesson (photo by Motionteam)

Going to the Audience Awards, the Fischer Audience Award for a Greek film was bestowed to Dark Illusion by Manos Karystinos, while, Isa Qosja’s Three Windows and a Hanging (Kosovo*, Germany) got the Fischer Audience Award for a film in the Balkan Survey section. In the Open Horizons section the award was given to Australian filmmaker Josh Lawson for his film The Little Death. In the International Competition section, the prize was awarded to Corrections Class by Ivan I. Tverdovsky (Russia, Germany) who also received the Hellenic Parliament TV Channel’s Human Values Award.

Yannis Economides’ latest film, Stratos (Greece/Germany/Cyprus) was awarded with the Greek Film Critics Association Award (PEKK).

Actor Donat Qosja with the Balkan Survey΄s Fischer Audience Award for Three Windows and a Hanging (photo by Motionteam)

During the ceremony, producer Marie-Pierre Macia, head of the Crossroads Co-Production Forum of TIFF’s Agora section and former head of the Director’s Fortnight at the Cannes FF, and Grigoris Karandinakis, general manager at the Greek Film Center, announced the film projects selected for financing in the context of the agreement between France’s National Center of Cinematography and the GFC. The projects were selected by a six-member committee consisting of Marie-Pierre Macia, Jacques Bidou and Eric Lagesse from the distribution company Pyramide (France), and directors Panos H. Koutras, Iris Zahmanidi and the head of the GFC’s Development and Production Office Yannis Iliopoulos. 

The selected projects are: Happy Birthday by Christos Georgiou, Son of Sofia by Elina PsykouInterruption by Yorgos Zois, Voir du pays by Delphine & Muriel Coulin, Athenes, Les eclats by Antoine Danis and La femme de mon oncle Grec by Sandrine Dumas. The Fund will allocate 1.000.000 Euros, 800.000 coming from France and 200.000 from Greece.

Roy Andersson’s A Pigeon Sat on a Branch Reflecting on Existence was screened after the awards ceremony, as part of the tribute to his work held by the festival. 

Check the Agora section Awards

Original source: Thessaloniki IFF official page

  Three Windows And A Hanging
  The Lesson
  Isa Qosja
  Marie-Pierre Macia
  Pantelis Voulgaris
  Grigoris Karantinakis
  Christos Georgiou
  Thanassis Karathanos
  Yannis Economides
  Panos H. Koutras
  Yannis Veslemes
  Lakis Papastathis
  Iris Zachmanidi
  Voula Zoumboulaki
  Zelimir Zilnik
  Elina Psykou
  Yorgos Zois
  Kristina Grozeva
  Petar Valchanov
  Thessaloniki International Film Festival
  Greek Film Center
  Pyramide Films
  Media Programme
  Film Center Serbia - Filmski Centar Srbije
  Centre national du cinéma et de l`image animée (CNC)
  Balkan Presence at Thessaloniki International FF 2014
  Greek Cinema at the 55th Thessaloniki FF
  55th Thessaloniki IFF - Zelimir Zilnik Masterclass
  55th Thessaloniki IFF - Crossroads Opening
  Greek Film Center Official Site
  Greek Film Critics Association Official Site (GR)
  FIPRESCI Offcial Site
  New Horizons FF Official Site
  55th TIFF: LUX Prize Press Conference
  55th TIFF: Hanna Schygulla - Audience Q & A
  Thessaloniki IFF on Twiter
  Thessaloniki IFF Official Site
  altcine Explore movies by Country People To read
Support altcine
Advertise with us
Submit your content
Sponsors & Partners
and Herzegovina

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Production Companies
Legal Documents
Film analysis
Behind the scenes
Powered by byte  
  altcine © 2011 | Terms of use | Privacy