The email address and password you entered do not match.
About altcine | Contact altcine
Istanbul Film Festival 2015 - Competition sections
24 March 2015
share info
To be held between 4-19 April this year, Istanbul Film Festival will once again offer cinephiles a powerful program encompassing the newest films that recently premiered at the Sundance and Berlin Film Festivals, as well as the masterpieces of all times, the latest films of great directors, and those of the up-and-coming prodigies yet to be discovered. The festival will hold a dozen of sections featuring 204 films by 222 directors from 62 countries, retrospectives and tributes, industry meetings, free-of-charge talks and workshops by renowned filmmakers, master classes, and other special events.

Let’s have a look at the Competition sections of the 34th Istanbul Film Festival:

In the International Competition section 13 films dealing with themes of art and artist or literature adaptations will vie for the €25,000 Golden Tulip Award. The jury presided by Rolf de Heer, consists of director Bence Fliegauf, writer-director George Ovashvili, producer Cédomir Kolar, and actress Melisa Sozen. Besides the Turkish film Why Can’t I Be Tarkovsky by Murat Duzgunoglu (2014) and the Turkish/German Yearning by Ben Hopkins (2015), the section will screen the latest films of Thomas Vinterberg and Ole Christian Madsen and Christian Petzold, among others.

Until I Loose My Breath by Emine Emel Balci

9 cream of the crop films that were completed in the 2014/15 season, will be vying for the Golden Tulip in the National Competition of the festival, including three Turkey and five world premieres. The jury will be headed by the prominent Turkish film director Zeki Demirkubuz, with actor Tansu Bicer, cinematographer Emre Erkmen, author Sebnem Isiguzel, and the Berlinale Panorama Section Member Wieland Speck as its members.

Lemonade by Ali Atay, Turkey , 2014 

Lack by Baris Atay, Turkey, 2015 

Until I Loose My Breath by Emine Emel Balci, Turkey/Germany, 2015 

The Coop by Ufuk Bayraktar, Turkey, 2014

The Visitor by Mehmet Eryilmaz, Turkey, 2015 

The New World by Caner Erzincan, Turkey, 2015 

Secret by Selim Evci, Turkey, 2015 

Snow Pirates by Faruk Haciafizoglu, Turkey, 2015 

Ivy by Tolga Karacelik, Turkey, 2015 

The Documentary Competition Jury, assembled for the first time this year, will be awarding a total of 15,000 TL in the categories of Best Documentary and the Special Jury Prize. The jury consists of documentarian Emel Celebi, director and producer Pelin Esmer, and director Paul Poet. The program will be  holding 11 world premieres and 2 Turkey premieres

Naked by Zekeriya Aydogan, Turkey, 2015 

Hey Neighbour! by Bingol Elmas, Turkey, 2014 

Young Wrestlers by Mete Gumurhan, Turkey/Netherlands, 2015 

June Fire by Gurkan Hacir, Turkey, 2014

Sigh by Metin Kaya, Turkey, 2015 

Colony by Gurcan Keltek, Turkey/Netherlands, 2015 

Before Dawn by Omer Leventoglu & Ihsan Kacar Turkey, 2015 

White Plane by Kazim Oz, Turkey, 2015 

Missing Times by Faysal Soysal, Turkey, 2015 

We Hit the Road by Deniz Yesil, Turkey, 2014 

Song of my Mother by Erol Mintas

The Human Rights in Cinema section will award the €10,000 FACE (the Film Award of Council of Europe) prize. Eurimages Fund of the Council of Europe supporting co-production, distribution, and presentation of cinema is a partner to the FACE Award. The FACE Award Jury comprises of author, actor and screenwriter Ercan Kesal, European Film Fund Eurimages Deputy Executive Director Isabel Castro, Palestinian screenwriter and director Najwa Najjar, and politician Leyla Kayacik. 10 films will meet the audiences, among them Song of my Mother by Erol Mintas (Turkey/France/Germany, 2014) and Tigers by Danis Tanovic (India/France, 2014).

Istanbul Film Festival 2015 will be presenting the Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize in memoriam of director and producer Seyfi Teoman. All the debut fiction films from Turkey in the International Golden Tulip Competition, Human Rights in Cinema and the Turkish Cinema (National Golden Tulip Competition, Out of Competition and New Turkish Cinema) sections will be eligible for the prize. Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize jury consists of scriptwriter and director Mahmut Fazil Coskun, director Syllas Tzoumerkas and actress Jale Arikan.

New Turkish Cinema Program

Rimo and Zimo Peace in Town by Nermin Er & Ismet Kurtulus, Turkey, 2014 (Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film nomination)

Lawless by Baris Ercetin, Turkey, 2014 (Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film nomination)

Muna by Serdar Gozelekli, Turkey, 2015

Cekmekoy Underground by Aysim Turkmen, Turkey, 2014 (Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film nomination)

And the Circus Leaves Town by Mete Sozer, Turkey, 2015 (Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film nomination)

The Fish In Me by Ertan Velimatti Alagoz, Turkey/Australia/Greece, 2015

The International Federation of Film Critics (FIPRESCI) will award one film from the International and one film from the National Competition, while the Prize will be presented to a film of the National Golden Tulip Competition section that besides having indisputable artistic qualities also brings out the idea of European dialogue and integration. The festival also is awarding one film from the National and one from the International Golden Tulip Competitions with the Radikal People’s Choice Award, with the winner travelling to the Sarajevo Film Festival.

Moroever, this year, the Istanbul Film Festival Honorary Awards will be given to five esteemed figures of the Turkish cinema: director-producer Yilmaz Atadeniz, musician Cahit Berkay, actress Nebahat Cehre, writer-director Safa Onal, and actor Suleyman Turan. The Honorary Awards will be presented at the festival΄s Opening Ceremony.

Source: Istanbul Film Fest official website
  Song Of My Mother
  Until I Lose My Breath
  Why Can`t Be Tarkovski
  The Visitor
  The New World
  The Coop
  Snow Pirates
  The Fish In Me
  And The Circus Leaves Town
  You Tell About Me
  Rimo and Zimo Peace in Town
  Cekmekoy Underground
  Trans*BUT – Fragments of Identity
  Young Wrestlers
  White Plane
  Missing Times
  Giaour Neighbourhood
  Hey Neighbour!
  June Fire
  Before Dawn
  We Hit the Road
  Idil Biret: The Portrait of a child prodigy
  Syllas Tzoumerkas
  Ercan Kesal
  Mehmet Eryilmaz
  Ufuk Bayraktar
  Mahmut Fazil Coskun
  Tolga Karacelik
  Mete Gumurhan
  Yilmaz Atadeniz
  Jale Arikan
  Danis Tanovic
  Cedomir Kolar
  Zeki Demirkubuz
  Seyfi Teoman
  Emre Erkmen
  Pelin Esmer
  Tansu Bicer
  Cahit Berkay
  Ali Atay
  Kazim Oz
  Faysal Soysal
  Maria Binder
  Safa Onal
  Erol Mintas
  Caner Erzincan
  Emine Emel Balci
  Melisa Sozen
  Murat Duzgunoglu
  Baris Atay
  Selim Evci
  Faruk Hacihafizoglu
  Ertan Velimatti Alagoz
  Mete Sozer
  Baris Ercetin
  Mahur Ozmen
  Nermin Er
  Ismet Kurtulus
  Aysim Turkmen
  Serdar Gozelekli
  Zekeriya Aydogan
  Yusuf Kenan Beysulen
  Bingol Elmas
  Gurkan Hacir
  Metin Kaya
  Gurcan Keltek
  Omer Leventoglu
  Ihsan Kacar
  Cihan Savucu
  Erol Karakaya
  Deniz Yesil
  Eytan Ipeker
  Berlin International Film Festival - The Berlinale
  Sarajevo International Film Festival
  Istanbul Film Festival
  31st Istanbul Film Festival awards
  32nd Istanbul International Film Festival 2013
  Winners of the 32nd Istanbul International Film Festival 2013
  Balkan Films at the 33rd Istanbul Film Festival
  The 33rd Istanbul Film Festival Awards
  Istanbul Film Festival 2015 Trailer
  Istanbul Film Festival official website
  Istanbul Film Festival on Twitter
  Istanbul Film Festival on Facebook
  altcine Explore movies by Country People To read
Support altcine
Advertise with us
Submit your content
Sponsors & Partners
and Herzegovina

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Production Companies
Legal Documents
Film analysis
Behind the scenes
Powered by byte  
  altcine © 2011 | Terms of use | Privacy