The email address and password you entered do not match.
About altcine | Contact altcine
The winners of 51st Karlovy Vary International Film Festival
11 July 2016
share info

Karlovy vary International Film Festival came to an end and the winners of the 51st edition were announced on Saturday night, 9 July.

The Hungarian feature film It΄s Not the Time of My Life, shot by the director Szabolcs Hajdu in his own home with the members of his own family and his friends, was awarded the Crystal Globe for the Best Feature Film and the prize of USD 25 thousand. Hajdu also received the Best Actor Award for his family drama.

Film director Damjan Kozole received Best Director Award

The Special Jury Prize was granted to an unusual romance Zoology by Russian director Ivan Tverdovskiy, about a woman who has grown a tail. Slovenian director Damjan Kozole received the Best Director Award at the honorary ceremony for his drama about fear Nightlife. Both the Czech co-production feature films included in the Competition succeeded, too. Zuzana Mauréry received the Best Actress Award for the film The Teacher by Jan Hřebejk and the last feature film by the late Jan Němec, The Wolf from Royal Vineyard Street, received a Special Mention; another Special Mention was granted to Romanian-Swedish drama By the Rails.

The prize for the Best Film of the East of the West Competition was awarded to a quasi-autobiographical debut by a Georgian director Rusudan GlurjidzeHouse of Others. The Special Jury Prize was granted to Estonian feature film The Days That Confused by Triin Ruumet.

House of Others - East of the west grand prix

The Grand Prix for Best Documentary Film went to an American essay about love, LoveTrue by the director Alma Har΄el. A Special Mention was awarded to the documentary Ama-San by Portuguese filmmaker Cláudia Varejão, about Japanese traditional pearl hunters. The American movie Captain Fantastic received the Právo Audience Award and will be screened in the Czech Republic from the next week, also thanks to the KVIFF.

Czech actress Jiřina Bohdalová and American screenwriter and director Charlie Kaufman were awarded with The Festival President’s Award at the closing ceremony. She thanked the Festival President, Jiří Bartoška, as well as the directors “who were brave enough to cast me in unexpected parts”. The Festival President’s Award was also granted to American screenwriter and director, and Academy Award winner, Charlie Kaufman.

Non-statutory awards were announced earlier, on Saturday afternoon.

The award of international film critics FIPRESCI goes to German film Original Bliss by Sven Taddicken.

Original Bliss also won the Europa Cinemas Label award for the best European film in the Main Competition or the East of the West Competition.

The Ecumenical Jury award goes to Italian-French film The Confessions by Roberto Andò.

FEDEORA award by Federation of Film Critics of Europe and the Mediterranean for the best film from East of the West competition section belongs to Russian film Collector, directed by Alexei Krasovskiy.

For more information you can visit KVIFF Official Website
  By the Rails
  House of Others
  Damjan Kozole
  Rusudan Glurjidze
  Balkan films and highlights of the 50th Karlovy Vary International Film Festival
  Balkan films awarded at Karlovy Vary IFF 2015
  Balkan Films at the 51st Karlovy Vary IFF
  Karlovy Vary international Film Festival Official Facebook Page
  Karlovy Vary International Film Festival Official Webpage
  altcine Explore movies by Country People To read
Support altcine
Advertise with us
Submit your content
Sponsors & Partners
and Herzegovina

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Production Companies
Legal Documents
Film analysis
Behind the scenes
Powered by byte  
  altcine © 2011 | Terms of use | Privacy