The email address and password you entered do not match.
About altcine | Contact altcine
37th Istanbul Film Festival Awards
18 April 2018
share info
Having reached its 37th edition this year, the Istanbul Film Festival aka iksv took place from 6-17 April 2018, with a program comprising highlights from Turkey and world cinema. 

It hosted 198 feature films and 12 short films, in 18 different categories by 218 directors from 43 countries. Sixty films vied in national and international competitions at this year’s festival. 

The Istanbul Film Festival announced the award-winners at a ceremony held at the Rahmi M. Koç Museum on April 17. 
Hosted by writer and TV programmer Yekta Kopan, awards were presented in the following categories:
International and National Competitions, Human Rights in Cinema, National Documentary and National Short Film competitions, as well as the Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize, FIPRESCI (International Federation of Film Critics), and National Short Film Awards.

In the International Competition, 11 films from 11 countries were evaluated to receive the grand prize of the festival, the Golden Tulip. 
The winner of the Golden Tulip in the International Competition is Western (Germany – Bulgaria – Austria), directed by Valeska Grisebach. 
The International Competition’s Special Jury Prize went to Cocote, directed by Nelson Carlo de los Santos Arias.
The Human Rights in Cinema award was given to Frost, directed by Sharunas Bartas. 

Western, by Valeska Grisebach

Thirteen films that were completed in the 2017-18 season vied for the Golden Tulip in the National Competition of the festival. Among them, 10 films had their world premieres and one had its Turkish premiere at the festival. 
The National Competition jury awarded prizes in nine categories: Best Film, Best Director, Special Jury Award, Best Actress, Best Actor, Best Screenplay, Best Director of Photography, Best Editing, and Best Music. 

The Golden Tulip for the Best Film in the National Competition went to Debt (Turkey), directed by Vuslat Saraçoğlu. The award, which is a monetary prize of 150,000 Turkish liras, was announced by jury president Pelin Esmer. 
Tayfun Pirselimoğlu won Best Director for his film Sideway (Turkey – Greece – France). The winner was announced by director Marcelo Martinessi. 
The Special Jury Prize in memory of Onat Kutlar was presented by Selen Uçer and awarded for Butterflies (Turkey), directed by Tolga Karaçelik. 
Mehmet Ali Konar’s film Hewno Bêreng/Colorless Dream (Turkey), was given a Special Mention. Barbara Lorey de la Charrière presented the award. 
Demet Evgar won the Best Actress Award for her role in Serial Cook (Turkey). The award was presented by actor and director Onur Saylak. 
The Best Actor Award was given to Tolga Tekin for his role in Butterflies (Turkey), and Tansu Biçer for his role in Sideway (Turkey). They received their awards from actress Angeliki Papulia. 
The Best Screenplay Award in the National Competition was given to Ümit Ünal for the film Serial Cook (Turkey). 
The Best Cinematographer Award in the National Competition was given to Florent Herry for the film The Escape.
The Best Editing Award in the National Competition was given to Osman Bayraktaroğlu for his work in the film Serial Cook (Turkey). 
The Best Original Music Award in the National Competition went to Canset Özge Can for the film The Pigeon (Turkey). 

Pigeon, by Banu Sivaci

Spearheaded with the objectives of encouraging short film making, supporting the development in this field, and bringing together the audience and outstanding short films, the National Short Film Competition was held for the third time this year. 
Umut Subaşı’s film I Don’t Believe In You But Then There Is Gravity won the Best Short Film Award
Harun Durmuş’s film East Side won the Special Mention

The Best Documentary Award was given to Fragments, directed by Rojda Akbayır and Banu Sıvacı’s film The Pigeon (Turkey) won the Seyfi Teoman Best Debut Film Prize

Three FIPRESCI awards were presented for The Rider by Chloé Zhao, The Gulf (Turkey – Germany – Greece) by Emre Yeksan, and Wicked Girl by Ayçe Kartal.
  The Pigeon
  The Gulf
  Colorless Dream
  Serial Cook
  Tolga Karacelik
  Tayfun Pirselimoglu
  Emre Yeksan
  Demet Evgar
  Vuslat Saracoglu
  Osman Bayraktaroglu
  Tolga Tekin
  Canset Ozge Can
  Banu Sivaci
  Valeska Grisebach
  Mehmet Ali Konar
  Umit Unal
  Sinan Yabgu Unal
  Chouchkov Brothers LTD
  Greek Film Center
  Arizona Films
  Anka Film
  Coop 99
  Bad Crowd
  Komplizen Film GmbH i.G.
  Homemade Films
  Istos film
  Bir Film
  Kundschafter Filmproduktion
  Karacelik Film
  Mitra Filmcilik
  RTNT Film
  Chantier Films
  37th Istanbul Film Festival Awards - Official Site
  altcine Explore movies by Country People To read
Support altcine
Advertise with us
Submit your content
Sponsors & Partners
and Herzegovina

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Production Companies
Legal Documents
Film analysis
Behind the scenes
Powered by byte  
  altcine © 2011 | Terms of use | Privacy