The email address and password you entered do not match.
About altcine | Contact altcine
Welcome to the 18th Sarajevo Film Festival
6 July 2012
share info
The 18th edition of the Sarajevo Film Festival will be officially opened tonight (July 6). Children of Sarajevo will open the festival, led by the director Aida Begic and the leading actors Marija Pikic and Ismir Gagula. The official Opening Ceremony will take place in the National Theatre at 8.30 p.m. The festival runs from July 6 until July 14, 2012. Competition Program is accredited by FIAPF as a specialised program for feature and documentary films from Southeast Europe. 

The Competition Programme - Feature Film gives priority to the films which will have either world or international premiere at the Sarajevo Film Festival. All the films will be shown in primetime, at the Sarajevo National Theatre. Programmer for Competition Feature and Short selection and In Focus is Elma Tataragic. The Competition Programme attracts over 150 guest directors, screen-writers, producers, actors, actresses and other people from film industry. Over the past four years, it has become the most important meeting point of the East European film.

This year’s programme showcases 7 Balkan films including:
Voice of My Father by Orhan Eskikoy (Turkey, Germany, France)
Beyond The Hill by Emin Alper (Turkey, Greece)
The Woman Who Brushed Off Her Tears by Teona Strugar Mitevska (FYROM, Germany, Slovenia, Belgium)
Children of Sarajevo by Aida Begic (Bosnia and Herzegovina, Germany, France, Turkey)

The Competition Programme - Feature Film of 18th Sarajevo Film Festival also includes 2 Austrian films. Crossing boundaries by Florian Flicker and What is love by Ruth Mader will be screened and compete with the rest of the submissions for the following financial awards: 
Heart of Sarajevo for Best Film - in the amount of 16,000 €, provided by Council of Europe
Special Jury Prize - in the amount of  10,000 €, provided by Agnes B.
Heart of Sarajevo for Best Actress - in the amount of 2,500 € 
Heart of Sarajevo for Best Actor - in the amount of 2,500

This year’s Competition Programme Jury – Feature Film consists of: 
Kornel Mundruczo, President of the Jury Director, Hungary
Frederic Boyer, Tribeca Film Festival Artistic Director, France/USA
Ada Condeescu, Actress, Romania
Eva Diederix, Cofounder, Managing Director, Elle Driver, France
Igor Martinovic, Cinematographer, USA

Feature films not competing for an award at the Festival, are screened in the In Focus, which  traditionally brings the best from regional cinema from the past year, showcasing films which made considerable success at films festivals. Over the last few years, Sarajevo Film Festival has successfully promoted films from the region and discovered the now successful and respected auteurs, such as the cinematographer Arsen Anton Ostojic,winner of the Special Jury Award in 2004, Zornitza Sophia, winner in 2004 and Pjer Zalica, winner in 2003.   
"The In Focus Programme is more and more becoming a very insightful programme bringing the best of the films from the previous year which do not only represent the regional cinema but the world cinema as well" commented last year Elma Tataragic, the In Focus selector. 

This year’s In Focus section includes 4 films by Balkan auteurs: Alps by Greek Yorgos Lanthimos, Clip by Serbian Maya Milos, Beyond the Hills by Romanian Cristian Mungiu and Summer Book by recently deceased Turkish filmmaker Seyfi Teoman whose two feature films "drove Turkish film for two decades", as Guernica mentions at its official site.

The Sarajevo Film Festival, besides features, aims to promote recent contemporary documentary production and to support their distribution in Bosnia and Herzegovina. In 2006, Sarajevo established the Award for the Best Documentary. In addition to that, films from this selection are competing for the Human Rights Award, which is awarded to the best film dealing with the issue of human rights. Rada Sesic is the official selector of this programme. 

The Balkan feature films selected for the Competition Programme – Documentaries are:
Sofia’s Last Ambulance by Ilian Metev (Bulgaria, Croatia, Germany) 
The Boy Who Was A King by Andrey Paounov (Bulgaria, Germany) 
Family Meals by Dana Budisavljevic (Croatia)
Mustafa’s Sweet Dreams by Angelos Abatzoglou (Greece, United Kingdom, Turkey) 
Turn Off The Lights by Ivana Mladenovic (Romania)
Ich Liebe Dich by Emine Emel Balci (Turkey, Germany)
The Long Vacation by Damjan Kozole (Slovenia)
The Role of My Life by Nada Mehmedbasic (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

The official financial awards for the best film of the Competition Programme -Documentary Film are:
Heart of Sarajevo for Best Documentary Film -  in the amount of 3,000 €, provided by The Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs 
Human Rights Award - Award dealing with the subject of human rights, in the amount of 3,000 €, granted by The Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs.

This year’s Competition Programme – Documentaries jury consists of:
Thomas Imbach, Director, Producer, Switzerland
Audrius Stonys, Director, Producer, Lithuania
Damir Šagolj, Journalist, B&H

For more info you can visit the festival΄s website. 
  Mustafa`s Sweet Dreams
  Redemption Street
  Beyond the Hills
  Beyond the Hill
  Present Tense
  Sofia`s Last Ambulance
  The Woman Who Brushed Off Her Tears
  Children of Sarajevo
  Everybody in Our Family
  Voice of My Father
  Summer Book
  Angelos Abazoglou
  Cristian Mungiu
  Maja Milos
  Radu Jude
  Yorgos Lanthimos
  Ada Condeescu
  Marija Pikic
  Miroslav Terzic
  Emin Alper
  Seyfi Teoman
  Belmin Söylemez
  Ilian Metev
  Teona Strugar Mitevska
  Aida Begic
  Ismir Gagula
  Orhan Eskikoy
  Arsen Anton Ostojic
  Elma Tataragic
  Rada Sesic
  CineLink Selection 2012
  Sarajevo΄s Work in Progress 2012
  altcine Explore movies by Country People To read
Support altcine
Advertise with us
Submit your content
Sponsors & Partners
and Herzegovina

Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
Production Companies
Legal Documents
Film analysis
Behind the scenes
Powered by byte  
  altcine © 2011 | Terms of use | Privacy